Halloween is almost here!

Standard

As a child I absolutely loved dressing up so Halloween was an excuse for me to wear my costume out in public. I looked forward to picking out my costume every year with my mom because I got to try on so many in the process.  Out of all of the costumes I wore, my favorite costume from my childhood would definitely have to be the Tinker Bell costume. Peter Pan was my favorite movie and of course my favorite character was Tinker Bell, a fairy with attitude! I can remember that Halloween like it was yesterday. I was in the first grade and I strutted my stuff at school and while I was trick-or-treating with my brother, dressed as Peter Pan.  That is a Halloween that I am sure to never forget. I do not remember carving pumpkins that particular year but my parents always let my brother and me clean out the pumpkin. We never got to carve because it was a sure thing that one of us would have cut a finger off!

Giving out templates is a great way for Georgia Southern to promote the University.  This allows the members of the community to show their Eagle pride while partaking in the Halloween festivities.  I think other companies could benefit from doing the same thing with their logos.  The companies could place the template on their websites and link them to social media networks like Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, Tumblr, and Instagram so they could be downloaded by consumers.  This promotion shows that the company cares about the family, since carving pumpkins tends to be a family project.  If promoted correctly I feel that it could be a successful campaign to run during this time of the year.

 

18 responses »

  1. Raven,
    As a child, I dressed up as Tinker Bell for Halloween too! It was a fabulous costume. That’s awesome that your brother coordinated his costume to match yours. Regarding pumpkin design templates, I agree that Georgia Southern University should continue to release templates and other companies should follow its lead. It’s the perfect opportunity to put a public relations spin on a well-known holiday. Also, as you said, if the companies linked the templates to social media, there would be little hassle in the download process. In addition, pictures of customers’ pumpkins could be shared on social media.

    -Bree Haggard

  2. I love your coordinated costumes! I have a twin sister, so I went through that too. I do think pumpkin carving could be a good campaign for some companies, if they could just get customers to participate. That is the only difficulty I would foresee. I think if they offered some sort of incentive, then it could be a success.

  3. Pingback: Week 10 Comments | PRogression

  4. Aww tinker bell is such a cute costume though, I don’t remember carving pumpkins when I was little but I did it when I got older. I like the creative side but I don’t like all the mushy stuff in it. But I might carve one again just for fun.

  5. Pingback: Week 10 comments | PR_RaN

  6. I am dying to see you as Tinkerbell! I bet that was the cutest thing ever. I agree it is a great idea for universities to give out a template for Halloween. It is also a great idea to link them with social media.

  7. Pingback: Week 10 comments | markowitzhay

  8. Pingback: Comments – Halloween | Bree Haggard, PRCA

  9. Julia Roberts has always been my favorite so naturally Tinker Bell is also on of my all time favorite characters!! I’m sure you were a precious Tinker Bell. You’re so right about this idea appealing to the whole family, I think it’s a great way for companies to spread their brand name while appealing to all different ages and demographics.

    • I have a sister so I always remember trick-or-treating with her and we always had matching costumes. The perks of having a sibling! Carving pumpkins is my favorite part of Halloween besides all the delicious candy, and I think posting pumpkin carving templates on companies’ websites is a great idea! Last year, I downloaded the GSU eagle template and tried it out for myself and it was awesome!

  10. Pingback: PRCA 3334 Comments- Halloween | bwindaily

  11. Pingback: Halloween Comments-Week 10 | shannonwanco

  12. Hi Raven! I can just imagine you as a little tinker bell! Cute! I also think that it’s a good idea to print out a stencil that is custom to the brand personality. For example, people wouldn’t want to carve “Vera Bradley” but they would want to carve a pretty flower pattern designed by Vera! Happy Halloween!

  13. Pingback: Comments Week Ten | exPRessions

  14. I really like that you see the connection between the companies and how they could use this to engage with their customers – FAMILY. What a great way to get people talking about a company or product but by linking it to family values.

  15. Pingback: Feedback Features – Week 10 | monogramsandpearls

  16. I think that shopping for costumes with family was just a s fun as actually wearing them. Picking out the pumkins to carve was also just as fuun as actually carving them lol! I agree that GSU did a great thing by giving out the logo templates and that it really made a great impact on the local communites.

  17. Pingback: Responses to Halloween | Sk00745's Blog

Leave a comment